NORTHERN TERRITORY OF AUSTRALIA

Place Names Act NAMING OF PLACES

I, Gerald Francis McCarthy, Minister for Lands and Planning, under section 11(1)(a) of the *Place Names Act*, approve the recommendation contained in a report by the Place Names Committee for the Northern Territory that the roads at Papunya be given the names specified in the Schedule, column 1, as indicated on Compiled Plan 5383.

Dated 1 February 2011

G. F. MCCARTHY Minister for Lands and Planning

Note 1

Compiled Plan 5384 may be inspected at the office of the Surveyor-General, 3rd Floor NAB House, 71 Smith Street, Darwin, and the Place Names Committee's website at: http://www.nt.gov.au/placenames/register/2011/documents/CP5383.pdf

Note 2

The origin of each name is specified in the Schedule, column 2, opposite the name.

SCHEDULE

Place name	Origin of name
Abbott Road	Named after a prominent Papunya elder and family
Bush Street	Named after George Tjangala Bush, artist and police tracker
Kaapa Court	Named after Kaapa Mbitjana Tjampitjinpa
Leura Street	Named after Tim Tjapaltjarri Leura, stockman and artist
Nyananyana Street	Named after a prominent Papunya elder
Nyirritjukurrpa Street	Named after a prominent Papunya elder
Phillipus Crescent	Named after a prominent Papunya family
Possum Crescent	Named after Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri AO, stockman and artist
Puntungka Crescent	Named after a prominent Papunya elder and family
Raggett Road	Named after a prominent Papunya family
Takulu Road	Named after Jack Tjupurrula, Warlpiri name Takulu
Two Bob Road	Named after of Two Bob Tjungurrayi, artist
Wallankarri Road	Named after Mick Wallankarri Tjakamarra, stockman and artist
Warangkula Court	Named after Johnny Tjupurrula Warangkula, labourer involved in road construction and artist
George Rrurrambu Park	Named after the lead singer of the Warumpi Band
Kantawarra Softball Field	Named after the Kantawarra Nakamarra sisters
Obed Raggett Park	Named after Obed Raggett
Petering Park	Named after Pastor Werner Petering
Theo Brown Oval	Named after Theo Brown, first coach of Papunya football team